Close ILTakeCare Suggestion
IL TakeCare app – For all your insurance & wellness needs

Policy purchase, claims, renewal & more


FASTag Exemption List

Learn about the specific categories of vehicles and situations that are exempted from using FASTags at toll plazas.

  • 01 Dec 2023
  • 3 min read

In order to get rid of congestion and delays at the National Highways (NH) toll plazas, the Ministry of Road, Transport and Highways (MoRTH) has introduced Electronic Toll Collection (ETC) using RFID-based FASTag. With the adoption of this system, you do not need to stop at the toll plazas and can pass away directly. Your ride will be scanned by the system itself and your tax amount will be deducted from your FASTag account the moment it passes from the national highways across the country.  

This blog will talk about the FASTag List and the vehicles that are listed in the exemption category for the toll exemption FASTag.


FASTag Toll Exemption List

Although the Ministry has released the list of vehicles that come under the fast tag exemption it is mandatory for them to have a FASTag sticker for their vehicle.

FASTag exemption list comprises of vehicles of the following -

  • President and Vice President of India
  • Prime Minister of India
  • Governor of the State
  • Chief Justice of India (CJI)
  • Speaker/Presiding Officer of the Lower House
  • Cabinet Minister of the Union
  • Chief Minister of a State
  • Supreme Court Judge
  • Minister of a State
  • Lieutenant Governor of a Union Territory
  • Chief of Staff
  • Chairman of the Legislative Council of a State
  • Speaker of the Legislative Council of a State
  • Chief Justice of a High Court
  • Judge of a High Court
  • Member of Parliament (MP)
  • Vice-Chief of Army Staff and others in the same position of power such as in Navy and Air Force
  • Chief Secretary to a State Government
  • Secretary to the Government of India
  • Secretary, Council of States
  • Secretary, House of People
  • Foreign Dignitary on State Visit
  • MLA and MLC
  • A person who has been awarded Param Vir Chakra, Ashok Chakra, Maha Vir Chakra, Kirti Chakra, Vir Chakra and Shaurya Chakra


  • Used For Official Purpose:

  • Ministry of Defense personal and those who are eligible under the Indian Toll (Army and Air Force) Act, 1901
  • Armed forces of the Centre and the State and State in Uniform, including Paramilitary Forces, and Police
  • Executive Magistrate


  • Emergency/Utility Vehicles:

  • Fire-Fighting Department or Organisation
  • NHAI/ Government Organisation utilizing vehicles for the purpose of inspection, construction, or operational or maintenance of national highways and survey.
  • Ambulance
  • Funeral Van
  • Mechanical Vehicles Designed for use by persons with physical disabilities.

Also read:


FASTags have been an important step to eliminate congestion and traffic jams on national highways. There are some vehicles that are exempted from FASTags or are under toll plaza exemption and we have shared the detailed list with you above. But toll exemption FASTag does not mean they need not have a FASTag sticker. FASTag stickers are mandatory despite the fact they are exempted from paying toll fee.

  • Looking for tailored advice?

    Schedule a call with our insurance advisors

  • OR
  • Call us:

    1800 2666
Please enter valid name
Please enter a valid mobile number
Please select the Category

Subscribe to our newsletter

Understand insurance better by reading our helpful guides, articles, blogs and other information.

Please enter valid name
Please enter valid Email

Error message here