Close ILTakeCare Suggestion
IL TakeCare app – For all your insurance & wellness needs

Policy purchase, claims, renewal & more


How Many Steps Are There In Surya Namaskar?

Surya Namaskar, or Sun Salutation, is a revered yoga sequence, but how many steps does it entail? In this article, we'll answer this question and provide insights into this rejuvenating practice.

  • 02 Nov 2023
  • 3 min read

A popular yoga practice, the Surya Namaskar or Sun Salutation stands as a beacon of holistic well-being. This ancient practice not only pays homage to the sun but also offers a complete workout for both physical strength and mental tranquillity. One intriguing aspect that often piques curiosity is how many steps are there in Surya Namaskar. Let’s delve into the intricacies of these steps, exploring the benefits and significance of each posture. 


12 steps of Surya Namaskar

Surya Namaskar is like a symphony of postures, each gracefully transitioning into the next. The 12 steps or postures of Surya Namaskar are as follows:

  1. Paramasana (Prayer pose)
  • At the start, stand tall on a mat in a prayer position.
  • This centred position sets the tone for your practice, grounding you in the present moment, fostering gratitude and enhancing mental focus.


  1. Hasta Uttanasana (Raised arms pose)
  • Inhale and raise your arms overhead while gently arching your back and looking up.
  • This lengthens your spine, improves lung capacity and stimulates the nervous system, boosting energy and mental alertness.


  1. Hasta Padasana (Hand to foot pose)
  • Exhale, fold from your hips, and bring your hand to the ground beside your feet.
  • This pose stretches your hamstrings, calves and lower back, promoting flexibility and calming the nervous system.


  1. Ashwa Sanchalanasana (Equestrian pose)
  • Inhale, place your right foot back into a lunge, keeping the left knee bent and palms on the mat. 
  • This posture strengthens and stretches leg muscles, opens the chest and enhances balance and focus.
  1. Dandasana (Stick pose)
  • Move into a plank position, engaging your core and maintaining a straight line from head to heels.
  • This pose builds upper body and strength, improves posture and prepares you for more challenging poses.

Also read:

  1. Ashtanga Namaskar (Eight-limb pose)
  • Gently lower your knees, chest and spine to the ground, touching 8 points (hands, feet, knees and chest)
  • This develops upper body strength, enhances arm and shoulder flexibility and cultivates mindfulness and concentration.


  1. Bhujangasana (Cobra pose)
  • Inhale, slide forward, lifting your chest and head while keeping your pelvis and legs on the ground.
  • This opens up the chest, strengthens back muscles, enhances spinal flexibility and alleviates stress and fatigue.


  1. Adho Mukha Svanasana (Downward-facing dog pose) or Parvatasana (Mountain pose)
  • For Adho Mukha Svanasana, bend with your feet apart at hip width, keep your eyes on your stomach, arch your upper spine slightly, and bend your arms towards the floor.
  • Parvatasana may look the same but is different. Keep your feet together, look ahead, align your head and neck with your spine, and keep your arms straight.
  • For both poses, you have to lift your hips and form an inverted V shape.
  • These poses stretch the spine, hamstrings and calves, strengthen the arms and shoulders, calm the mind and boost blood circulation.
  1. Ashwa Sanchalanasana (Equestrian pose)
  • Inhale and place the left foot back into a lunge, mirroring step 4.
  • This posture continues to enhance leg stretching and balance while stretching the hip flexors and promoting stability.


  1. Hasta Padasana (Hand to foot pose)
  • Exhale and fold forward again, aiming to touch the ground with your palms or fingertips.
  • This repeats the hamstring and lower back stretch, promoting flexibility and relaxation.


  1. Hasta Uttanasana (Raised arms pose)
  • Inhale, raise your arms overhead, and gently arch your back as in step 2.
  • This posture further elongates the spine, stretches the abdominal muscles and invigorates the body.


  1. Tadasana (Mountain pose)
  • Exhale and return to the prayer pose, standing tall with the palms pressed together in front of your chest. Then, bring your arms down to your sides and relax.
  • This wraps up the sequence and allows you to absorb the benefits, fostering a sense of calm, unity and balance.


As you flow through these 12 poses, you engage different muscles, improve flexibility, enhance circulation and promote mental clarity. This rhythmic practice nurtures physical well-being while cultivating mindfulness, making Surya Namaskar a holistic journey of self-care and growth.



The beauty of Surya Namaskar lies in its 12 seamlessly flowing steps. Through the steps, you not only enhance your physical prowess but also embark on a journey of self-awareness, balance and harmony. As you embrace each movement, remember the essence of Surya Namaskar lies not only in the sequence itself but also in the exploration of the wisdom and transformation that unfolds with each graceful step.

  • Looking for tailored advice?

    Schedule a call with our insurance advisors

  • OR
  • Call us:

    1800 2666
Please enter valid name
Please enter a valid mobile number
Please select the Category

Subscribe to our newsletter

Understand insurance better by reading our helpful guides, articles, blogs and other information.

Please enter valid name
Please enter valid Email

Error message here